Peace and Protection

We greet one another with peace. “Assalaamu ‘alaykum.” “Peace be with you.” Sahlom aleikom.”

{… But humankind is the most argumentative of all beings.} (Dr Mustafa Khattab’s translation ‘The Clear Quran’ 18:54)

In order to spread peace effectively, we can start with achieving inner tranquillity. We can pray to Allah, As Salam, the Peace / the Source of Peace and Safety. We can ask Allah for His protection. We can spread knowledge of Allah from a place of peace and connection to the Source of Peace.

Peace in Heaven

We are promised peace in Heaven, if we get there. And sometimes I like to focus upon Heaven in order to soothe my soul and gladden my heart with hope of its attainment.

Seven Heavens

First of silver,

second of gold,

third of pearls, and

fourth of white gold.

Fifth of silver,

sixth of crystal form,

seventh of bright light.

With lasting peace as norm.

© 2018 Elizabeth Lymer

CLICK HERE > Listen to ‘Seven Heavens’ on SoundCloud.

Protection from Harm

I also like to be proactive and rely upon the Name of Allah for protection.

CLICK HERE > Listen to a SoundCloud audio of, “In the Name of Allah, in Whose Name there is protection against every kind of harm, in the earth or in the heaven, and He is the All Hearing, the All Knowing,” in melodic Arabic and English for easy memorisation.

“Whoever recites it three times in the morning will not be afflicted by any calamity before evening, and whoever recites it three times in the evening will not be overtaken by any calamity before morning.”
Abu Dawud 4/323; At-Tirmithi 5/465; Ibn Majad 2/332

Spreading Peace

What are your favourite remembrances of Allah, and verses of Al Qur’an, when you seek inner peace and protection? What are your favourite words and actions to bring outer peace and protection? Where and for whom do you hope for worldly peace, and what action can you take to work towards it?

{Indeed, We have made this ˹Quran˺ easy in your own language ˹O Prophet˺ so with it you may give good news to the righteous and warn those who are contentious.} The Clear Quran, 19: 97

CLICK HERE > Read about Muslim Rhymes and Lullabies which includes the fun song ‘Peace Greetings Must Be Spread’.

CLICK HERE > Subscribe to emails from Elizabeth Lymer, children’s author and rhymer.

 

18 thoughts on “Peace and Protection

  1. Muslimah_MINA says:

    Truly in the rememberance of Allah swt does the heart find peace. At most times when I feel anxious and stressed I often recite the verse Hasbiyallahu wa nimal wakil, it really works for me and reminds me that He is in control. Love the description of the heavens. JazakAllahu khair! May Allah grant us Jannah. Aameen.

    1. Elizabeth Lymer says:

      Ameen. Masha’Allah, that’s excellent practice. Insha’Allah you will like my next post, which will include a similar ‘Allah is sufficient for me’ remembrance. Barak Allah alaykum. Alhamdulillah!

  2. usranaeem says:

    Peace of mind is what we human beings struggle with and that is really important actually. I find this post so beneficial. Masha Allah. Loved the seven heavens one too much.
    Thank you for sharing ❤

  3. Jamila Jones says:

    Masha Allah very nice sis, for me it is Allah Mercy that I use when making dua, calling His name Rahman, Raheem, He is Most Merciful Alway All-Merciful. No matter what we do, how are we strive to do good, it will only be by His Mercy that we enter Jannah. Jazkallah Khair for such a beautiful reflection

    1. Elizabeth Lymer says:

      Barak Allah alaykum. Alhamdulillah for His Mercy. I used to call on those two names / attributes every time I made du’a to Allah. It became mechanical for me and I took pause. I think I am ready to return to them from my heart insha’Allah. Jazakillahkhayr for reminding me.

  4. lubnakarim06 says:

    Beautiful post…I am really glad to be part of this #muslimbloggers group..to come to know about wonderful blogs like you who is always inspiring and spreading the knowledge….

    1. Elizabeth Lymer says:

      Alhamdulillah, me too. I have only recently become an active member and started exploring our blogs. I am gratefully benefiting (and newly following), subhanAllah. It is good to connect with you, masha’Allah.

Leave a comment